The problem with kids today

I read an article yesterday about “the problem with millennials” (kids born between 1980 and 2000).

Helicopter parenting has caused these kids to crash land.

I’ve seen this trend for the past 15 years while hiring. Less and less applicants can handle their own shit. They’ve been told they’re great by their parents, and put into an education system based on standardized testing and a college environment where the best way to increase enrollment is to cater to those students.

The fact is a creative firm like mine, which hires smart people who take ownership simply doesn’t have any use for these graduates. I need people who will challenge the status quo and fail smartly.

The problem isn’t that they’re “crash landing”, but that they’re waiting until 30 until they are first allowed to crash-land, but at least they’re finally crash landing. My only hope is the woman who wrote this article is letting “Amy” fail and not “fixing” her problems for her with therapy and medication… postponing Amy’s growing up yet again. If so maybe I’ll be able to hire Amy in a few years despite her degrees…

One thought on “The problem with kids today

  1. While I read the article you linked a couple of weeks ago, I didn’t lock in on the range it was meant to encompass. That encompasses all three of my siblings, who don’t fit the mold this article describes . . . which I’ve nevertheless seen.

    I just had a post about my four-year-old son’s report card FP’d. I’m still less than a decade into my career, but eight years is a long time to redefine what “success” looks like. After those experiences, and in light of my own education, I have an image of what I do and don’t hope for my son’s own professional life a couple decades from now. I don’t want his confidence to be derived by his getting stellar marks on standardized testing. I want him to know that he can and will fail, and that he’ll have learned something useful to help him stand even stronger afterward.

    He’s developing some clear critical thinking abilities already. Sure, critical thinking looks different on a four-year-old than a 40-year-old, but it’s there and I revel in it. That’s much more important to me than whether he hits someone else’s board-dictated standards on their timelines.

    Like

Leave a Reply

