Do you really want to be treated like everyone else?

First there was: Treat others how you want to be treated.

Then there was: Treat others how THEY want to be treated.

But it’s easier said than done. At Gravity Switch we do our best to mold people’s jobs to places they excel. Kayleen articulated it something like this to the other day:

It’s not just a matter of finding things people are good at. You can be good at something that drains you. Instead we have to craft jobs where people GAIN energy from what they do.

But it’s hard. Taking an example from my personal life. Ian is very competitive. If we say “I bet I can get in the car before you” they kid will be in the car before you finish your sentence. So I often find myself trying the same approach with Tristan, and he simply doesn’t care. It’s actually become a bit of a joke between me and Christine when I say it to him we now both crack up.

The biggest challenge at work with this is when people WANT to be better at things but it’s killing ’em. I’ve found myself stepping in a couple of times over the past couple of months and forcibly taking things off people’s plates they want to keep doing. They’re overachievers so they don’t like it, but it’s been a very GOOD thing. They’re happier and more successful and it’s not forever.

Leave a Reply

