Camping

“If you’re going to play a game w/closing your eyes & running around go somewhere safe, like the road.”

Christine had a track meet in NYC this weekend and so I was alone with the kids. Charlie has been begging me to take them camping so we went camping. We tried to invite some friends, but apparently every other child in Massachusetts plans more than 10 hours ahead of time for their weekends and is pretty much booked through September.

We pulled into the camp site and I got the fire started while the kids set up the tent. It reminded me of camping with my mom where me and my brother would set up the tents and she would cook. Tristan told me:

“When I grow up I’m going to be a superhero and help with the fire.”

Sounds like a dumb super-power to me, but it was cute as hell…

At one point the kids were playing a game which involved running around and when someone did something they all had to close their eyes until they touched tree so I had to tell them:

“If you’re going to play a game w/closing your eyes & running around go somewhere safe, like the road.”

We had a great time. Found a swimming hole as well as an old slate quarry. Charlie and Tristan wanted to stay another day, but I had work so we came back.

The kids did a great job packing and even packed some extra gear in case Willa could join us at the last minute (she couldn’t). They did forget to pack a few things:

  • A pot to cook noodles in (it made it as far as the kitchen counter).
  • Noodles (which I also forgot to buy when we stopped by the grocery story for them).
  • Plates (we used aluminum foil).
  • Max forgot deodorant and so did I so I couldn’t mooch off him

On the second night I had a bit of a surprise when the kids had put themselves to bed by 9:30. I just hung out at the picnic table and read and went to bed myself a little after 10.

Screen Shot 2015-07-13 at 7.42.33 AM
The kids packed. The sleeping back in front was for Willa and had everything she needed except clothes.
Screen Shot 2015-07-13 at 7.41.44 AM
Setting up the tent
Screen Shot 2015-07-13 at 7.40.56 AM
Skipping stones… well throwing stones… at the old quarry.
Leave a Reply

