How do *I* feel about moving to Italy for a year

I’ve talked about how the kids feel about moving to Italy for a year, and my mom asked how I feel.

It’s f’in awesome (sorry mom, you asked)

I’m going to spend a year not working. If Christine and I want to get lunch together we can. If we want to go on a hike we can. If we want to … I don’t know sit around while I read a book and she plays a song on her uke we can.

The kids will be in school but we’ll also be taking lots of trips.

I have ZERO concerns about how the kids are going to adjust. I mean I know there will be good weeks and shitty weeks, but we’ll handle them.

What am I sad about:

  • I love everyone at Gravity Switch so much and I’m a little jealous that they get to keep working together for the next year and I don’t. Is that geeky or what… but it’s totally true.
  • Missing TWO family reunions. I don’t get to see my big ‘ol family often and I don’t get many game weekends in my life. Growing up isn’t as cool as I thought it was going to be on that front.
  • Friends… but it’s only a year and at least couple of people have “hinted” at visiting.

In addition to spending time with Christine and the kids, I’m excited to maybe do any number of these things:

  • Write a book
  • Not write a book
  • Start another business or two
  • Not start another business or two
  • Become a better photographer
  • Or not
  • Learn something new
  • Do something new
  • Volunteer somewhere
  • Become a teacher
  • Speak at more venues in Europe
  • Read a lot of books
One thought on “How do *I* feel about moving to Italy for a year

Leave a Reply

